2016 VIATEC Technology Awards Finalists Announced

Jim Hayhurst named 2016 Technology Champion

May 11, 2016  (Victoria, BC) - The Victoria high-tech sector has announced the finalists for the 15th Annual VIATEC Technology Awards.

After sifting through a record-breaking 189 nominations, VIATEC has announced it’s 58 finalists for its 13 award categories; the largest amount of finalists the event has ever enjoyed. The awards will be handed out at a gala on the evening of June 24th at the Victoria Conference Centre.

VIATEC also revealed that Jim Hayhurst will receive the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion and Ladies Learning Code will receive the VIATEC Member of the Year award. 

Dan Gunn, CEO of VIATEC explained, “Jim Hayhurst, CEO of Pretio Interactive, has played a key role in our community as a leader of initiatives, a spokesperson, a supporter and a role model. He understands what it takes to shape a strong and vibrant community and we are honoured to recognize him as the Tech Champion he is. I think Colin Lennox would have been very proud to see the award named after him bestowed on such a stand-up guy.” 

“Ladies Learning Code have really made a difference in our community in a short time,” commented Gunn. “Their efforts to teach valuable coding skills to women of all ages is playing a significant role in encouraging more of them to enter the tech sector and to use those skills as entrepreneurs. Their events not only sell out but they manage to engage the entire tech community as teachers, mentors, sponsors and supporters. That is exactly the community mindedness and focus we need to continue to grow our local tech scene. It is our honour to hold them up as an example.”

The record number of finalists were pulled from a total of 189 nominations (which blew away the previous record by over 50%). There were so many incredible candidates that multiple awards have been split into sub-categories.

“We have never witnessed this level of excitement about the VIATEC Awards,” explained Gunn. “On top of the record breaking nominations, we have seen tickets selling faster than ever.” Over 600 tickets have already sold and steps are being taken to increase capacity to as many as 850 which would see the Victoria Conference Centre bursting at the seams.

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in BC, as well as the leaders, creators and innovators that have driven the local tech sector to over $3 billion in annual sales and Victoria’s largest private industry.

Click here for ticket and sponsorship information.

The 2016 Finalists are:

Technology Company of the year has been split into three categories based on employee count.

Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Beanstream
  • CGI
  • Redlen Technologies
  • Schneider Electric

Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Checkfront
  • Codename Entertainment
  • Go2mobi
  • Redbrick
  • Workday

Technology Company of the Year (1-10 employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Flytographer
  • Revolution3D Printers
  • SilkStart 

Emerging Technology Company of the Year:
(Sponsored by: KPMG LLP)

  • Crowd Content
  • Echosec
  • Industrial Plankton
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • Stocksy United

Startup of the Year:
(Sponsored by: University of Victoria)

  • Craftt
  • FuturePay
  • Green Sky Labs
  • Ripebasket Technologies
  • Tellwell Talent

Product of the Year:
(Sponsored by: RBC Commercial Services)

  • Giftbit (Digital Gift Cards)
  • Codan Radio Communications (Stratus)
  • RevenueWire (Constant Content)
  • Checkfront (Online booking) 
  • Codename Entertainment (Crusaders of the Lost Idols)

Innovative Excellence - Software or Service:
(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

  • Echosec
  • Foundry Spatial
  • Go2mobi
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • RaceRocks 3D

Innovative Excellence - Hardware:
(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

  • DreamCraft Attractions
  • Holografyx
  • LimbicMedia
  • Redlen Technologies
  • Revolution3D Printers

Executive of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Corporate Recruiters)

  • Brad Williams - Redbrick
  • Brianna Wettlaufer - Stocksy United
  • Scott Dewis - RaceRocks 3D
  • Shaun Jamieson - SilkStart

Employee of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

  • Aleksey Vorona - xMatters
  • Aurora Walker and Rob O’Dwyer - Pretio Interactive
  • Matt Martin - Crowd Content

Team of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

  • Archipelago Marine Research
  • Atomic Crayon
  • Change.org
  • HP Advanced Solutions
  • Smart Dolphins
  • StarFish Medical 

Employer of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Megson FitzPatrick)

  • Carmanah Technologies
  • ChatterBlock
  • GlobalWide Media
  • RingPartner
  • Semaphore Solutions

Creative Excellence:
(Sponsored by: AbeBooks.com)

  • Island Circus Space
  • Monkey C Interactive
  • Victoria Hand Project

The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion: 
(Sponsored by: Reed Pope LLP)

  • Jim Hayhurst - Pretio Interactive

VIATEC Member of the Year: 
(Sponsored by: Cox Taylor LLP)

  • Ladies Learning Code


VIATEC (Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council), started in 1989. Our mission is to serve as the one-stop hub that connects people, knowledge and resources to grow and promote the Greater Victoria technology sector (Victoria's biggest industry). We work closely with our members to offer a variety of events, programs and services. In addition, VIATEC serves as the front door of the local tech sector and as its spokesperson. To better support local innovators, we recently acquired our own building (Fort Tectoria) where we offer flexible and affordable office space to emerging local companies along with a gathering/event space for local entrepreneurs. www.viatec.ca, www.forttectoria.ca