VIATEC Members Elect Board of Directors for 2015-16

VIATEC Members Elect Board of Directors for 2015-16
In addition, VIATEC alters its mandate AND its name

Victoria, BC - September 25, 2015 –VIATEC members and guests attended the Annual General Meeting of VIATEC at Fort Tectoria on September 24, 2015. They came to hear an annual briefing, to elect seven board members and enjoy a networking event. Acting Chair, Colin How and Executive Director, Dan Gunn presented a review of the past year, plans for the coming year, and held the general election for the new board.

A few special resolutions were also passed to alter the constitution of VIATEC. The organizational mandate of VIATEC changed to include not just technology, but also innovation and entrepreneurship. In addition to this, the name of VIATEC has changed from “Victoria Advanced Technology Council” to “Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council.” The acronym remains the same, with the minor change of a capitalized “E”.

Seven members were elected to the 14-member board of directors at the AGM, including the following:

  • Jim Balcom - Redlen Technologies
  • Robert Cooper - PlusROI
  • Ho Kim - CAMACC Systems
  • Bobbi Leach - RevenueWire
  • Alex Mendelev - TinyMob Games
  • Christina Seargeant - MediaCore
  • Brad Williams - Sockeye Technologies

They join the following returning board members:

  • Sage Berryman 
  • Scott Dewis - RaceRocks 3D
  • Colin How - Edoc
  • Jennifer Jacques - Schneider Electric
  • Mark Longo - Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Rasool Rayani 
  • Tim Teh - KANO/APPS

VIATEC would like to thank the following outgoing Board of Directors (not returning):

  • Elizabeth Dutton -
  • Jim Hamilton - Insight & Innovations Consulting Services 
  • Gerry Wight - Vivitro Labs

To see the bios of the 2015-16 board, please click here.

All positions within the Board remain the same: Ho Kim as Board Chair, Colin How as Vice-Chair, Brad Williams as Chair of the Finance Committee, Alex Mendelev as the Chair of the Governance Committee, and Robert Cooper as Chair of the Membership Committee. 


The Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council (VIATEC) is the conduit that connects people, knowledge and resources to help grow Greater Victoria’s successful technology sector.

Since VIATEC’s inception in 1989 the Greater Victoria tech sector has grown to 884 known high-tech companies, with 23,000 tech jobs and generating in excess of $3.15 billion in annual revenues, with a $4 billion economic impact.


Dan Gunn, Executive Director