Winners Announced at 2014 VIATeC Technology Awards


Tectoria, BC – June 20, 2014 – Tonight 13 winners of the coveted VIATeC Technology Awards were revealed in front of a record-breaking crowd at the Victoria Conference Centre.

The Sold Out 756 attendance number wasn’t the only record broken at the VIATeC Technology Awards, a gala event known across the province for its recognition of innovation and excellence in Victoria’s advanced technology sector. 

This year there was a record number of 100 nominations were made to this year’s VIATeC Technology Awards.

“We’re thrilled to see the technology awards move from strength to strength,” says Dan Gunn, Executive Director of VIATeC. “This is the 13th anniversary of the awards, and interest remains very high – not only in nominating the innovative individuals and companies who make our sector strong, but in attending the awards to connect with the movers, shakers, doers and makers in Victoria’s imagination economy.”

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in British Columbia. The awards provide well-deserved recognition for some of Victoria's most innovative firms and a great opportunity for the local technology community to gather and celebrate each other's successes.

Known for innovation in the crowded pantheon of business award galas, the VIATeC Technology Awards ceremony is noted for actually entertaining the 700 plus technology community members, investors, government decision-makers, academics and media who attend. 


The winners of the 2014 VIATeC Technology Awards are:

Technology Company of the Year: CAMACC Systems

Emerging Technology Company of the Year: Red Brick Media

Executive of the Year: Tammara Kennelly - FriesenPress

Innovative Excellence: AML Oceanographic

Strategy of the Year: PlusROI Online Marketing

Product of the Year: Go2mobi

Team of the Year: Tutela Technologies

Employer of the Year: KANO/APPS

Start-up of the Year: TinyMob Games

The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion: Owen Matthews

VIATeC Member of the Year: Limbic Media

Education Champion, two winners this year are: 

1. Danita Stewart - School District 62 Sooke
2. Jake West - Pacific School of Innovation and Inquiry


A HUGE thank you to our sponsors, who have made this event possible!


About VIATeC

The Victoria Advanced Technology Council (VIATeC) is the conduit that connects people, knowledge and resources to grow a successful technology sector in Greater Victoria.

The organization was founded in 1989 to promote and enhance the development of the local advanced technology industry. With only a handful of known technology companies, the ambitious mandate to facilitate the development of our region as a global centre of excellence for advanced technology was set.

The Greater Victoria tech sector has grown to over 900 known technology companies, employing more than 15,000 people and generating in excess of $2.5 billion in annual revenues with an economic impact of over $3 billion, making advanced technology Greater Victoria's #1 private industry.


About the VIATeC Technology Awards

The Technology Awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in British Columbia.

Now in their 13th year, the awards recognize individuals, companies and employers behind all of the hard work in the technology industry. They are given the opportunity to stand out in front of their peers for their great accomplishments achieved throughout the year. Finalists and recipients are recognized in front of over six hundred executives, senior decision makers, government representatives and the media at the annual awards gala.